Students can study the Extended Certificate (1 A level) at both sites. The National Diploma (2 A levels) is available for study at the Workington Campus only). Students will be transported from the Whitehaven Campus for the equivalent of one day per week.

Examination Board

OCR Level 3 Cambridge Technical Extended Diploma in Health and Social Care

Entry Criteria

Level 5 or above in Science and English and 4 in Maths GCSEs

Assessment and Course Content

Extended Certificate 1 A level (360GLH)

Mandatory Units

Unit 1 Building positive relationships in health and social care Internal Assessment

Unit 2 Equality, diversity and rights in health and social care External exam

Unit 3 Health, safety and security in health and social care External exam

Unit 4 Anatomy and physiology for health and social care External exam

Optional Units

Unit 13 Sexual health, reproduction and early development stages

Unit 24 Public Health


Extended Diploma 2 A Level 1 (720GLH)

To achieve this qualification, learners must complete all the above units from the extended certificate plus and additional 4 mandatory units and four optional units.

Mandatory Units  

Unit 5 Infection control Internal Assessment

Unit 6 Personalisation and a person-centred approach to care External Exam

Unit 7 Safeguarding External Exam

Unit 14 The impact of long-term physiological conditions promote positive behaviour Internal Assessment

Options Unit

Unit 13 Sexual health, reproduction and early development stages External Assessment Internal assessment

Unit 17 Supporting people with mental conditions Internal assessment

Unit 24 Public health Internal assessment

Unit 22 Psychology for health and social care Internal assessment

Why you should study Health & Social Care:

This course gives learners an understanding of health and social care in the wider contexts of different environments and settings where care takes place, the importance of effective communication in health and social care, the importance of legislation in health and social care and how to deliver a person-centred approach in the care given. Learners will also develop transferable skills such as communication, research, planning and organisation.

Skills Developed, Progression and Possible Future Careers

These courses provide a broad understanding and skill set related to Health and Social Care, and the academic skills required to support progression into higher education in a range of health and social care or related qualifications. You may also seek employment in the health and social care sector or a related industry. It will enable learners to progress to a wide range of degree programmes. The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses such as paediatric, adult, midwifery and mental health nursing as well as, primary and secondary education, childhood studies, physiology, social work, counselling and many more. The transferable skills learnt on this course can open many doors to other areas of industry through the skills gained in the units as all industries will apply the ethos and underpinning knowledge that Health and Social Care gives you.