Based at the Workington Academy site.

Examination Board

Btec Edexcell level 3 National Extended Certificate and Diploma in Children’s Play and Learning and Development

Entry Criteria

Level 5 English Language, level 4 maths and level 4 science.

Assessment and course content

Extended certificate 1 A Level

Mandatory units

External Mandatory Units are double units (120GLH) and consist of;

Unit 1 Children’s Development 

This unit gives you a background of the key theories that will govern all aspects of your working practice and everything you do as an early years educator. In this unit, you will learn about theories and models of development that explain how and why children develop and how this relates to the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). You will develop an understanding of a range of factors that may influence children’s development, and consider the short- and long-term effects on their development


Unit 2 Development of Children’s Communication, Literacy and Numeracy Skills 

Children’s development of speech, communication, language, literacy and numeracy skills is an essential part of early childhood development, beginning from birth and continuing at home and in the early years setting. Early years practitioners have an essential role to play in supporting and developing all these skills, by promoting them through developmentally appropriate interactions.


Internal Mandatory Unit (60GLH) Consist of; 


Unit 3 Play and Learning

In this unit, you will learn about the types of play and the opportunities that should be made available to children at different ages and stages of development. You will consider why play is so important and how it supports children’s learning and development. There are a number of important theoretical perspectives, philosophies and curriculum approaches to play that have been developed over many years. You will investigate these approaches and consider how they continue to influence practice in early years settings.


Optional units – learners must complete one of the units listed below  


Unit 5 Keeping Children Safe

In this unit, you will look at the legislation, regulations and guidance relevant to health, safety and safeguarding. You will investigate approaches to creating safe and secure environments and policies and procedures to control and prevent the spread of infection. You will learn about types of abuse and how to recognise the signs that a child is at risk.

Why you should study Children’s Play, Learning & Development

CPLD is an interesting subject that gives you an insight into many aspects of children development you will learn about the theory and theories around how children learn and develop and look into the biological and social aspects of children’s development. You will learn about the psychology around how children’s development and the factors that could either improve or hinder children’s development. This course allows you to become a reflective practitioner and develop your analytical skills and critically assess yourself and other subject matter.

Skills Developed, Progression and Possible Future Careers

n the BTEC National units students will be taught and develop essential skills in the following three main categories, cognitive and problem-solving skills: use critical thinking, approach non-routine problems applying expert and creative solutions, use systems and technology.  intrapersonal skills: communicating, working collaboratively, negotiating and influencing, self-presentation and interpersonal skills: self-management, adaptability and resilience, self-monitoring and development. You will develop transferable skills that prepare learner for progression to university which include the ability to work and learn independently, the ability to research actively and methodically and be able to give presentations and being active group members. They develop the knowledge and skills required for degree courses including reading a technical text, effective writing, analytical skills and preparing for assessment methods used in degrees.

The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses such as paediatric, adult, midwifery and mental health nursing as well as, primary and secondary education, childhood studies, physiology, social work, counselling and many more. The transferable skills learnt on this course can open many doors to other areas of industry through the skills gained in the units as all industries will apply the ethos and underpinning knowledge that Health and Social Care gives you.